Be thankful

Hey readers, so today I have been feeling especially down about my shoulder and the fact that I can’t do anything my team can nor can I travel with them. I started feeling extremely frustrated, thinking wow I am going to be stuck like this for about four months, my life sucks thanks so surgery. Then when I got home I was reading Yahoo news and began watching a video of a seventh grader who walked for the first time in front of his high school football team under the Friday night lights. It dawned on me at this moment, as I watched a young boy struggle with something that I don’t even think twice about how selfish I am, how inconsiderate and unsympathetic I was being to everyone around me. I highly doubt my team wants me to continually send out invitations for my pity parties, they want me to support them through every step of the way as though I was doing ever lap with them, swimming every race with them, struggling with them through every set.

For the first time in a long time I just sat and wrote down a list of all the things I was thankful for. Now I didn’t write down the obvious things, such as food and water, but the more meaningful personal things that I believe make me unique as a person. The fact that I live with my best friends, that my parents support me through every decision I make, that I have the opportunity to go to such an amazing school like UCD, and the best of all, that I am able to be an athlete and do what I love everyday in college. So for those of you who are feeling down, or feel as though your life sucks at this point, make a list because I promise you it will make you feel 100% better. Another tip, look up inspiration quotes or videos, yeah it might seem lame, but sometimes watching someone accomplish the unthinkable makes our dreams seem closer to a reality than we thought before.

As many of my friends know my room is taped up with all my favorite quotes. They range from inspirational to humorous, but one of my all time favorites is by Goi Nasu. It states: “An entire sea of water can’t sink a ship unless it gets inside the ship. Similarly, the negativity of the world can’t put you down unless you allow it to get inside of you.” So instead of throwing the annual pity party with sad songs, cheetos, and chocolate covered everything, get up and get your ass in gear. Life is too short to feel sorry for yourself with there are other people out there struggling with the same thing if not something worse. If everyone put their problems in a pile, everyone would quickly snatch their own back from realizing their problems aren’t as bad as they seem.

Don’t let the negativity of your own thoughts or of the people around you change your vision or dreams of what you can accomplish. So I am going to leave all of you with some of my favorite inspirational videos and quotes on my blog for you to watch and feel happy about. Positive outcomes come from positive thoughts because you are the only thing standing in the way of reaching your goals. So make the list of 25 things you are thankful for, stop listening to what other people think, and go do your thang! Go to seek the great perhaps!

1. What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

2. If you don’t take a change, you don’t stand a chance

3. Do, or do not. There is no “try”

3. If you want something you’ve never had, then you’ve got to do something you’ve never done

4. Your mind will quit a thousand times before your body will. Feel the fear and do it anyway!

5.The greets battle is no physical but psychological. The demons telling us to give up when we push ourselves to the limit can never be silenced for good. They must always be answered by the quiet, the steady dignity that simply refuses to give in. Courage. We all suffer. keep going

6. It never gets easier. You just get better

7. Be confident. Too many days are wasted comparing ourselves to others and wishing to be something we aren’t. Everybody has their own strengths and weaknesses, and it is only when you accept everything you are-and are not- that you will succeed.

8. http://elitedaily.com/sports/paralyzed-boy-walks-onto-football-fields-teammates/

9. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsXRj89cWa0

10. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-iPiN_YHjY

11. This one is special to me because he was an underdog and proved everyone wrong. He won olympic trials and went to the 2012 olympics. Scott Weltz everyone http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xofhB6iQBuQ

Leave a Reply

