Words for thought

Image

many believe we are placed on the earth destined to find the Nicholas Sparks soul mate somewhere in this vast universe. Someone who just so happens to be stunningly handsome, hilarious, and completes us in every way, oh and did I mention that you also get to marry them?! Man sign me up right now! So one of my favorite stories is one that derives from the ancient Greeks, it states that humans were originally created with four arms, four legs, and two faces. Zeus feared the power these humans held so he split them into two separate beings leaving them searching for their other half for the rest of their lives.

I think so many people get caught up in the idea that a soul mate is an intimate other, someone whom you must fall in love with, but who started this rumor? I believe is a soul mate is just that, someone whose soul matches yours, someone whose soul completes your own. This could be a best friend, a parent, a pet for goodness sakes, but to think that it is defined as someone that you fall in love with truly limits your possibility of finding them. In my 20 years of being alive I can say many people have come close to being what I consider my other half, and NONE of them were people that I would marry or were sexually attracted to. So wander the world aimlessly and don’t search for the person who completes you, let it happen naturally because like puzzle pieces you can’t force something together, you just have to find the two that were made for each other. 

Baci!

Leave a Reply

