Magic

They never told me what could not be done,

So I stand here united.

My mind and body separated by the facts,

Those I listened to

And those I created.

I was haunted by dreams of my past self,

So I woke to allow them to seep into reality.

There was so much I lost,

But now I see empty spaces

Waiting for filling.

They never told me what was to come,

So I stand here united.

I fight the pain within my limbs,

And the uneven gravel below my feet.

For there are places to go,

And days to be taken.

I dream now of things I never had,

Believing my mind a prophet.

They never told me,

So I did not guess,

Of the equations and facts they had lined up.

There was a battle before,

Between my mind and body.

One failing to believe the other.

It was when I gave in to the shell of my being

That I found below a pulse.

I listen below the surface,

For my heart is the only sound.

It is magic I tell you,

To be alive.

It is magic I tell you,

Within.

Leave a Reply

